SHANGHAI — Ogilvy has named new leaders in Shanghai to succeed Debby Cheung, who is retiring from her role as president after 25 years with the agency.

Yong Yuan becomes president of Ogilvy’s Shanghai Office while 20-year Ogilvy veteran Joe Yu steps up to president of the firm's public relations and influence capability across China.

Cheung will retain a senior advisory role for Ogilvy Greater China. Her career began at Ogilvy Public Relations Worldwide in Hong Kong, where she worked her way up to the position of managing director. In 2003 she relocated to Shanghai to lead Ogilvy PR and with an emphasis on innovation and nurturing local talent, developed Ogilvy into the leading agency in the market. 

"Debby has led a long and impactful career with Ogilvy and I, along with all of my colleagues wish her all the best in her next chapter," said Chris Reitermann, Ogilvy Chief Executive for Asia and Greater China.

"I couldn’t be more thankful for this ‘easy’ transition, Debby came to me over a year ago, after 25 years with Ogilvy, indicating her desire to retire in order to devote more time to her passion projects and family," added Reitermann. "For both Debby and I, Yong was the definitive and logical successor, and we have since put the wheels in motion to make this transition happen."

Yong has been with Ogilvy for the past eight years. He joined as MD of Ogilvy Advertising and since the agency’s integration has been a group managing director. Yu, meanwhile, will remain as group MD of the Beijing Office, in addition to overseeing PR across China.

"Joe Yu is the natural successor to run our public relations capability in China,” said Ogilvy PR and influence Asia CEO Scott Kronick. "He combines strategic capabilities with hands-on leadership, while also having a deep understanding of the role of influence and its importance to the success of businesses today and tomorrow. We will miss Debby, but have nurtured a very strong leader in Joe over the past 20 years."

The duo join an existing Ogilvy China leadership team that also includes Beijing president Selina Teng, Guangzhou MD Frangelica Liang, Shenzhen MD Angela Chou, Taiwan CEO Daniel Lee, and Hong Kong chief executive Katryna Mojica.